A re-think of Sally’s digs…

I’ve had a bit of a re-think of Sally’s digs, as the lack of diurnal rythms was troubling me – I think the other cage was just too dark, plus had to be pulled out of my bookshelf to top up her water or check on her.  So I applied the same principles to a 30x30cm exo terra cube (a vivarium) – lining the inside with cork for better acoustics & climb-ability, but this time added a piece of real cork bark from the pet shop.  Its MUCH better, and I couldn’t be happier with it – this will be my housing of choice in future, the access is easy, there are plenty of ways to stay in the dark, but the front being glass allows for the bats to have a perception of the passing of the day.  I am on the lookout for more of these 30x30cm cubes if anyone has one that they aren’t using that they want to sell or donate. 🙂

I’ve also now moved little Brucie in to see if they can co-habit long term, as I’d rather they had a friend.  So they are under close observation at the moment, and I’m in the process of applying for my licence to keep them long-term, as well as the other bats waiting for soft release in the spring.

Generally, everyone’s doing well, although I think Fizzgig is a bad influence on Winnie, as they are now thick as thieves and squawk together at me when I open their tent, mouths wide open.  Must try to get a video of Fizzgig displaying how she earned her name!  Anyway, still working on weaning at the moment, although I continue to supplement with milk for extra calcium until they are finished growing / healing.

-Morgan

Leave a Reply

