The Lasting Effects of Bat Care…

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAI’ ve been waiting to do this post for ages!  Sometimes in the course of bat care, wonderful things happen, not with bats, but with the people who find the bats.  We recently received a package in the post with a self-published illustrated book by Bron, the lady who found a bat stuck on a burdock plant (you may know this bat as #TeaselBat as the original report was that it was teasel he was stuck to).  Bron had illustrated this beautiful book to tell the story of the bat’s misfortune, care, and ultimate release and sent two copies to me in the post to say thank you for our help.  I thought I’d share a few images from the book with you.  I was incredibly touched by this, and it is not the only time when the experience of bat care leaves a lasting effect.  One of the bats I currently have in care (Kimi) was found by a very concerned couple who, since he came into care last July, text me regularly to check on how he is doing.

It never ceases to amaze me how the experience of having a bat in your life, even for a little while, really has a lasting effect on some people, and it serves as a constant reminder of what a privilege it is to have these fuzzy little guys and gals in my life.

-Morgan

